BYMS Seventh Graders Elect 2015-16 ASB Officers


Photo courtesy of Ashley Ko

BYMS seventh graders have elected the following officers for the 2015-2016 school year: Emily Ito,  ASB Vice President, Justin Zhao, ASB Secretary, Sierra Lane, ASB Treasurer, Nina Guzman, Eighth Grade President, and Shaylee Matthews, ASB President.

During election week BYMS was covered campaign  posters and banners of all different colors and sizes. Candidates gave speeches in the MPR during a seventh grade assembly and then voted during their sixth period classes.

During the campaign the stakes and nerves were high for all of the contestants. Shaylee stated that she felt like crying and hyperventilating. The new officers stated in an interview with that their ideas to make the school a better place next year “would be a suprise just waiting to be unearthed.”

The new officers of the 2015-2016 school year were  excited to hear that they had been elected. Many of the officers stated that they were crying and just could not believe what had happened. “ I was out eating enchiladas when I received the news that I have been elected, I immediately checked the website and shrieked. I was so excited,” stated Nina Guzman.

Emily Ito stated that she would like to improve spirit rallies, improve dances, and have more student activities. Many of the officers wanted to thank their teacher advisers for all the support and assistance.  The officers would like to give a big thanks to Mr. Kish, Mrs. Swarm, and Mrs. Gaitan.

Congratulations to our new 2015-2016 officers!!