2016-2017 Principal’s Honor Roll Luncheon


Courtesy of Elyzabeth Andersen.

BYMS students and their parents were invited to join Mr. Valburg at this year’s Principal’s Honor Roll Luncheon on Monday June 5, 2017 in the MPR. All 41 students honored have kept a 4.0 GPA all of the quarters they have been at BYMS.

The luncheon started with complementary food catered by B&C Burgers and an introduction by Mr.Valburg, followed by guest speakers Sierra Bauerle-YLHS, Sammi Miller-EHS, and Robert Newberry-EHS. The luncheon ended with closing words from Mr.Valburg and students receiving their certificates and pins of recognition as the principal’s honor roll students.

The 41 total students honored were:


Alexis Benavidez

Emily Briggs

Jocelyn Castañeda

Jay Christensen

Alexia Cipres-Soto

Eric Dagher

Maya De La Torre

Elise Eckburg

Francesca Estrada

Abby Franklin

Alexis Herrmann

Emily Holdeman

Seoyeong Hwang

Jalen Jones

Eleni Katsivalis

Omar Khalaf

Danniel Kim

Riley Kish

(Chloe) Yeo Won, Lee

Wenxi Li

Samantha Lopez

Dakota Mancuso

Elijah Mauga

Matthew Nguyen

Hannah Petinak

Connor Saba

Ayden Serrato

Dylan Shih

Tristen Shinen

Christian Smith

Dylan Smock

Audrey Song

Eric Stratford

Mathew Tang

Rohita Thammineni

Trevor Vukelich

Naya Williams

Dylan Younes

Jessica Yu

Anna Zhang


“Sierra, one of the speakers, inspired me to keep on achieving in both academics and sports and she also gave me more confidence,” stated Eleni Katsivalis, a seventh grader who was honored at the luncheon.

When asked during an interview with the Matador Messenger what inspired him at the luncheon, Matthew Nguyen, an eighth grade honor roll student at BYMS, said, “Personally, I think it was the people who spoke the inspiring words, which stuck with me.”

Congratulations to all the students who worked hard to receive a 4.0 GPA and to be honored!